Homemade Enchilada

Homemade Enchilada

So I decided to make homemade enchiladas today. This was a daunting task to begin with…

1 whole Onion (white small) ~ Finely Chopped
1 garlic clove minced
1/4 teaspoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon cumin
.5 oz (weight) chili powder
1.5 Cups Chicken Stock

Sweat the onions and garlic together over medium heat for about three to five minutes. Add the dried ingredients together next, I used a whisk to help break it up as it hit the onions and garlic. The reason I used a whisk was because I added the chicken stock and whisked it together to keep clumps of powder from forming. I let this simmer for 20-30 minutes.

I ran my corn tortilla through mixture to that it would evenly coat the tortilla. add a couple tablespoons of taco meat (already cooked) and some cheese, rolled it up and put some more cheese on top… made enough of these until my Pyrex dish was full and poured the remainder of the sauce over the top and baked them at 350 until the cheese was melted.

My only problem was the tortillas broke apart at the sides… gotta figure that one out.

Leave a Reply

