Crawfish Etouffee

Crawfish Etouffee

Ok, so tonight was supposed to be a quick and easy dinner, however I forgot that when you buy your crawfish for Etouffee you mush de-shell your lovely shellfish. My original recipe called for 1 pound of crawfish, but since I wasn’t thinking I ended up with about half a pound, so the recipe was adjusted on the fly.

1 stick butter
1 tablespoon flour
1 whole onion chopped
4 stalks of celery chopped
1 bell pepper chopped
(1/2) pound of crawfish tails
2 cloves of garlic (halfway between minced and chopped)
1 tablespoon of flour (yes this is a second one)
1 cup of water
4 full stocks of parsley chopped
6 green onions chopped (green only)

In my pan I tossed the butter on high heat and let that begin to melt until the it started to really bubble up, I then added the tablespoon of flour and stirred for four minutes. The next stage was adding the onions, celery, and bell peppers and here I lowered the heat down to medium. I let the saute for 12 minutes. I then added the crawfish and garlic and let them cook for 10 minutes (stirring every once in awhile). Mix the water and flour in a bowl and stir until the flour dissolves, now that the crawfish has been on for 10 minutes add in the water/flour mixture and stir while it thickens. Once the mixture thickens (about 10 minutes for me) add in the chopped green onions and parsley and let that go for about 5 minutes.

I had some dirty rice which I put in a large shot glass dropped that in the middle of the bowl (had to tap the sides of the shot glass to get the rice to come out nicely) and surrounded it by the etouffee.

I call this dish Log Cabin in a swamp.
I am going to revisit this dish later and make some alterations, so keep an eye out for it again. Oh and on a quick note if you are trying to recreate this dish, cut the amount of onion in half, there was way to much onion, and not enough crawfish.

Leave a Reply

